tag:aopprojects.posthaven.com,2013:/posts AOP Members Personal Projects 2018-07-16T11:45:17Z tag:aopprojects.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1302813 2018-07-13T15:40:32Z 2018-07-16T11:45:17Z London's Docks - a personal project over 47 years

I started a project to document London’s Docks in 1971 just as I left Guildford School of Art. This image collection was permitted by the Port of London Authority who allowed me access behind the dock walls surrounding the working and disused docklands. I have tried to take images from identical positions over the years to give a clear perception of the changes that have taken place in East and South East London. I am now in the middle of my fourth era of imagery, 2018. I have created a website showing all the images www.londonsdocks.com which I update whenever I have managed to get to the Docks . Some image groups are shown here.

Thanks

Paul Webster
]]>
tag:aopprojects.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1189530 2017-09-07T18:13:37Z 2018-06-06T18:15:57Z Exploring Mumbai and Havana

My Taxi project started few years ago when I was on an assignment in Mumbai India and I had couple of days just to wonder around the city. The little taxis (Fiat Padmini) caught my eye. I ended up traveling the city’s endless roads hopping from one taxi to another and capturing the Padmini taxis and their drivers. I was shooting them against Mumbai’s landmarks, shady boulevards and congested industrial area. That way I was able to tell the real stories. I have around 55 images in the series called Mumbai Taxi Company. 

The second series happened last summer, when it became easier to travel to Cuba. I’ve been wanting to go to Cuba for a long time. It’s a place that has always been visually unique with its rich textures, its interesting people, and of course, its uncommon fleet of taxis (which are mostly American cars from the 1950’s). With Cuba moving to a new era, that is going to change quickly and I knew I had to go now if I wanted capture it in its real form.

The trip was amazing. I spent my days walking the streets from sunrise to sunset, connecting with locals (many of whom did not speak a word of English). The pace of Cuban life is a slow one, so people have time to stop and spend few moments with me. I was invited to some of their homes to meet the family or have a beer with them on the local corner bar. The experience left me with not only a new series of portraits, but also with some great stories of people I met.
  
The photos reveal the city. I wanted to tell the story of the location and people and environment with a simple setting. I am always trying to catch images which are positive, hopefully with slight humor. I have around 45 images in the series called Havana Taxi Company.

I was capturing in both places history that is about to disappear. Padminis will be swept aside by Fords, Hyundais and BMW’s. Old American cars will soon be coming to the end of their trip and replaced with Asian cars for sure.

Markku Lahdesmaki


See more of my awarded work on my new website:



]]>
tag:aopprojects.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1179255 2017-08-01T10:59:03Z 2017-08-01T10:59:03Z Mafia Island-Tanzania

Early morning at a fishing village in Mafia Island, Tanzania. Time stood still here.


]]>
tag:aopprojects.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1160652 2017-06-04T20:54:35Z 2017-06-05T07:41:00Z Lov'yer by Marta Kochanek Lov'yer / Marta Kochanek
 
The history of humanity has recorded hundreds and thousands of romances and mésalliances of all kinds. The world witnesses love between people of all nationalities and races. This planet gives room to those attracted to people of the same, opposite and both genders. It is how this world is constructed. It is how it always was.

Love is what motivates us in life. Brain science tells us it is a drive-like thirst. The ancient Greeks called love, “the madness of the gods”. Modern psychologists define Love as the strong desire for emotional union with another person.


We dig deeper and deeper into brain science, physics and psychology to understand what drives us to name our emotions, to describe feelings. We are desperate to find it; to experience, cherish and keep it. We succeed and we lose. Some people beg for love, some pay for it and some are just lucky to find their second half in this big and richly-populated world.


People love. People cheat. People judge. People are brutal. People search for attraction and attention, sex and lust, deep union and long-term partners.
 
We find love to be inspiring. We look for lovers to make it all fresh and intense again.


For my new Lov'yer project, I portrayed seven relationships that are formed by both the majority and minorities of the whole population that occupies this world. I contrasted old and young, curvy and slim, black and white, straight and gay. Following my research I found it fascinating to observe and read about lovers, cougars, sugar-daddies, gigolos, adorers, secret admirers and cohabitants. I realised that what happens to be silly to the majority can be normal to a minority. What is obscene to millions can truly be a blessing to the others. What can be a blessing to one group of people; can also be a motive for hate or crime for the others.


One of my first discoveries and sources of inspiration was the Ain Sakhri lovers’ figurine, which is the oldest representation of a human couple making love in the world. It is 11,000 years old and is very significant. If we were to translate my surname from Polish to English, it would only mean Lover. The word is recorded from the earliest English writers in the 8th century. As for the title I purposely chose an obsolete (Middle English) form of lover.



#love #relationship #romance ##judgement #rejection #gay #straight #old #young #curvy #slim #challenge #personalproject


Credits:
Executive Producer / Marta Kochanek
Production Manager / Evie Branka
Production Assistant / Barbara Gibson and Adam Fray
Photography Assistant / James Beddoes
Photography Assistant / Ian Jones
HMUA / Gemma Howard - Masters
HMUA / Zaneta Swiatlowska
HMUA / Joanna Stokes
Stylist / Danijela Vunduk
Talents /
Joseph Ladlow / Loula Gather / Sarah Powell / Will Keetch / Nicola Griffin /
Raife Connolly Maddox / Ian Hencher / Adam Lee Mroz / Steven Voss /
Ifeoma Obi / Theodore Griffiths / Dammie Howe / Lizzie, Tony and Freddie Bayliss


Marta Kochanek
]]>
Marta Kochanek
tag:aopprojects.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1153553 2017-05-12T17:01:44Z 2017-06-05T17:35:35Z Lady Di grab shot, Wimbledon 1980

Wimbledon: Center Court, 1980; Bjorn Borg vs John McEnroe. It was cited as the best Wimbledon final by ESPN’s countdown show “Who’s Number One?” and “one of the three or four greatest sporting events in history” by ESPN personality Mike Greenberg. A young lady Diana was there in the audience also and I took this fleeting shot.

© Philip Chudy 1980

I had been there the day before also – the first day of a photo assignment for Denstu, Japan. My task was to photograph a range of behind-the-scenes/historically significant people behind the tournament. Sure, I had had regular fun too. I watched a few matches in between photo sessions but I had also wondered into places where the general public would never go. I was exposed to the overpowering aroma from some of the 27000 kilos of strawberries, annually consumed there – and I was breathing, still capable of exposing film.  Now it was a mere 15 minutes before the final: I was being screamed at by the television crew onto whose camera position I had just climbed.

I have no idea how things are nowadays, but back then there was room in the cramped stadium for only two action TV cameras. The match feed for the entire world originated from these two contraptions. So, at that very moment, that was one of the most sensitive spots in the entire country.

I had been given the highest level permit be there for 2 mins for ‘just a brief shot’ of a female umpire, who was to climb to the umpire’s seat, sit for 30 seconds for the shot and then climb down again. I think it must have been Catherine McTavish, who had made history the year before. She was the tournament’s first female umpire.

The TV crew were now beside themselves with fury at me: “get down get down get don’t touch anything, get down now!“ – And I was still waiting for my subject mount the platform. I was impervious to their yelling and meantime, I glanced to my right and saw Diana Spencer (Lady Di) in the audience and thought to fire off 2 token frames. This made them even angrier. Finally my umpire subject was seated. I took my assignment shots and fled the mayhem.

I have it burned into my memory – the TV crew, still throwing insults at me even as I descended the lowest rungs of the ladder, out of sight into the bleak bunker-like interior of the media room. Here I would be locked in till the end of the match. The camera crew had made sure that nothing would distract them from their single minded match coverage. No one was coming in and no one was going out till it was over.

My sole consolation was that back up the ladder were some very jazzed up TV camera operators whose day’s work had only just begun – – but they were no longer yelling at me any more and that was nice.

I was not to know that this would be a final which would ‘go down in history’ but at that point is was ‘a final’ after all and now that my own assignment was over, I wanted to see it.

But, here I was trapped, mere feet from where the players would be playing. And what is more – “there are no windows in this bunker”. No windows looking out in ‘any’ direction. And to make things worse, nearly no furniture.  Two rickety old director’s chairs and a ‘tinny’ 14” black and white television on an upturned wooden box. That is all.

The sound of the crowd beginning to react to events was modulated by the thick concrete walls and another figure sauntered out of the crummy bathroom. I was not alone in this prison and I recognized the face.

My fellow inmate was none other than James Hunt who won the Formula One World Championship in 1976. Hunt who was one of the jet setters of the time, with a massive reputation and just as big a paparazzi following.

He had just given up racing cars and was beginning a career as sports commentator. Why he was there I just don’t know. But, we were locked alone in that room for that long and exciting match.

We just ‘had to have’ communicated over that tiny TV.  I would not have forgotten if he was reticent, as that would be notable and run contrary to his public persona. Evidently I was not impressed by stardom – – I cannot remember a single article of conversation.

I had nearly forgotten I had ever taken that photo and only rediscovered it in 2010.

Philip Chudy www.philipchudy.com

London 020 337 11854
San Francisco +1 415 203 3030


]]>
tag:aopprojects.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1153477 2017-05-12T12:12:40Z 2018-01-25T23:51:54Z The Tuscan Chef Photographic Project - The Tuscan Chef

I have spent several weeks over the last 20 years over seeing old Tuscans traditions on my farm in the mountains north of Lucca and have got to know the local farmers, cacciatore (hunters), food producers & restauranteurs. In November 2015, i was harvesting our olives and fell out of an olive tree which was on a steep terraced slope and ended up in hospital for ten days with 2 broken arms with plaster casts from my finger tips to my shoulders. I was unable to answer a phone or write an email, let alone prepare myself for a forth coming week long shoot for Dolmio - AMV BBDO.

Whilst spending hour after hour lying on a hospital bed I thought I should contact a friend & really good chef, Aurelio Barattini at a wonderful family trattoria, www.anticalocandadisesto.it and we should produce a book on his trattoria, his farm and photograph some of his families old recipes.

Not only is this a great project to work on, it also helps keep the folio fresh and working on location rather than in the studio takes you out of your comfort zone. The senses are immediately stimulated by things you see around you and stories you hear. Aurelio is a very passionate man and helped organise the shoot with local suppliers.

We left the trusted Hasselblad behind in the studio & armed with a Canon 5D, a few reflectors & natural light my assistant, Dave & myself started shooting. Every day was pure pleasure & so exciting returning to the studio to go through the 5000+ files/ trip and see what we had captured. Italians are so friendly and are natural models who love being in front of the camera. 

We set out to produce a food book, a collection of beautiful photos, stories-behind-the-photos, and hand-me-down recipes based around one Tuscan family. Behind every image there is a wonderful story; a legacy which will be handed on to future generations; a story about Tuscany, an exceptional chef, a special family, and recipes created over many generations. We went on forays into the mountains with Aurelio, head chef and “dad”, and discover the pride, pleasure and astonishing knowledge and expertise of local farmers and artisan producers. We met inspirational people in hidden places. As young men move away to the bright city lights and fat pay packets we need to capture these moments right now!

Chef, Aurelio Barattini. Plate of Cinta Senese, rare breed pork sausage & beans with a glug of olive oil #TuscanChef

In Italy there are various types of eating establishments. There are the ristorante's, with their white table clothes, trattoria's which originally were for the tractor drivers, therefore producing more wholesome food, then Osteria’s & Pizzeria’s. Italian food is simple and seasonal, so often some of the cheaper, seasonal food is as good if not better than the more expensive. Italians appreciate good food, it’s in their blood and food is treated with respect.

The main dining room, with castagna (chestnut wood ) tables, beams and panelling. Having eaten in the restaurant lots of time, it is always so serene & calm despite it being full every day #TuscanChef

Home-made summer pasta dish of aubergine & fresh ricotta ravioli with sweet cherry tomatoes. I chose not to go in too tight with the crop but preferred to capture the atmosphere of the surroundings, the dining experience, the chestnut wood, warm walls #TuscanChef

Pappa al pomodoro #TuscanChef

Head chef, Aurelio #TuscanChef

Sformato, a light eggy vegetable anti pasta with anchovies #TuscanChef

Renzo, local olive farmer and estate owner #TuscanChef

Marco, olive picker #TuscanChef

Side beef ribs #TuscanChef

1.8kg Bistecca cooking on Aurellio’s olive wood-fired grill #TuscanChef

Local butchers under their sign which reads ‘A little fat does you good’. #TuscanChef

Cinta Senese sausages cooking on the grill. This special grill uses olive wood because it is the hottest burning wood. He has added a fan to suck away the smoke so the flavour is the meat and not the smoke #TuscanChef

Marinating baccala, salt cod #TuscanChef

Roasted baccala #TuscanChef

Artisan bakers #TuscanChef

Baker, Emmanuelle portrait #TuscanChef

Butcher #TuscanChef

Stracetti with wild boar ragu #TuscanChef

Aurelio’s farm, Maolina  #TuscanChef

At 5am every morning, as the mists hover over the verdant Tuscan hills, embracing the walled city of Lucca, Aurelio’s heart leads him up the track to his late father’s farm ‘La Maolina’. “I have the heart of the wild boar” he announces fiercely, proudly. “Look at the sunrise… quick, let’s capture it; this is the best time of the day!” Standing proudly, Aurelio, with a sweep of his arm, embraces the neat rows of vineyards slowly but surely emerging magically from the soft, white wisps of night-time slumber below. “This is where I feel the presence of my father, not in the cimitero - cemetery. I feel him in the wine we create, in the oil we produce, in the sweet, ripe tomatoes we grow… this is where my young sons can run free. This is life! What more could anyone want?”


Ladies who lunch - staff lunch. I love this picture as the ladies together were so calm & respectful to each other. There was none of the rage & anger you hear about in London restaurants.  #TuscanChef

Fratelli - brothers Lamberto & Aurelio  #TuscanChef

Aurelio with the cinghiale (wild boar) he shot in his vineyards  #TuscanChef

Food is treated with so much love and care. I was amazed when a local electrician knew exactly where in northern Italy the coffee blend originated from.  #TuscanChef

Madonna  #TuscanChef

Having spoken to lots of Book agents I can see the food book demand is generally with a celebrity chef’s name on the title, as they are easy to sell and often tied up into a tv deal. However, it isn’t so easy to find a publisher featuring a chef or restaurant without this celebrity status, where sales are not guaranteed. Publishers are too cautious and won’t take the risk. Today, cookery books now generally begin with a well known food writer, food bloggers with a huge following or chef rather than a photographer. After much research I can see the photos are often secondary or even taken by the writer. With the books becoming less pictorial the standard of printing stock has fallen in an attempt to keep prices down.

To see more from my Tuscan chef project please click the link on my website http://www.hughjohnson.co.uk/#Portfolios/Tuscany---new-project/ Hopefully later this year, I will find a writer and the project will become a reality, a book titled The Tuscan Chef. Until this point we will continue shooting more photos,  of Aurelio’s two boys, the Vendemia (wine harvest), new and seasonal recipes.


Best wishes, Hugh
Hugh Johnson

International Photo Awards double winner 2015,16,17 
International Colour Awards 2015, 16, 17 winner - Still Life x2, Food, People
American Masters Cup winner double awards 2015
Pink Lady Food Photographer of 2014, 15,16 best food portraiture
AOPhoto awards 2014 best still life, best commissioned series 2013 best short film - Lurpak
Campaign magazine 2 best campaigns 2014
Luerzers Archive top 200 photographers worldwide  

+44 (0) 7789 931 644
TW & IG: @HughNTJohnson
Agent: mark gibson 07768 696 227
]]>
tag:aopprojects.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1147233 2017-04-18T10:11:36Z 2017-05-10T12:38:09Z Passion by Dominic James

My son has found his passion, he loves to draw! For me, this is a step change in his growing up into a man. I wanted to capture this new passion of his by making a short film of him that encapsulates what he puts into his art and I have used my passion for making imagery to do this. I did plenty of product placement along the way - as you do when that is what you're used too. I hope you enjoy this short, would love to hear what you think.

Products:@beatsbydre @strathmoreart @tombowusa @hm_man @pilotflyde @sonyalpha #beatsheadphones #strathmoretonedtan #tombowzoom #hmman #pilotflyh2 #sonya7rii

Director: Dominic James
Cinematography: Dominic James
Artist: Dylan James
Location: Littlehampton
Music Title: Couth Youth
Music Artist: Matt Wigton

KIT
Sony A7Rii
Sony 28mm f2
Pilotfly H2
Adobe Premiere CC
Soundstripe

]]>
Dominic James
tag:aopprojects.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1145354 2017-04-10T10:08:34Z 2017-05-10T12:38:20Z Transient Sculptures by Neal Grundy

At first glance, the viewer may believe he is seeing a solid sculpture in the landscape. In reality, the image captures a fabric form in ‘mid-flight’. The sculpture exists for a split second in time; once photographed, it is otherwise lost forever, never to be re-created.

I first produced this series in a studio environment. The permanence of this environment contrasted starkly against the transience of the moving forms. To create a greater sense of harmony, the images were later shot within the natural environment. In doing so, a secondary layer or optical illusion is incorporated for the viewer.

More images for this series can be viewed on my site. www.nealgrundy.co.uk


]]>
tag:aopprojects.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1144262 2017-04-05T21:49:42Z 2017-05-12T19:00:48Z Da Vinci’s Dodge Challenger by Philip Chudy - photo-illustration #automotive #transport #cars #dodge #challenger #retro #car shoot

by Philip Chudy
London 020 337 11854
San Francisco +1 415 203 3030
www.philipchudy.com

Back in the days of chemical photography, this sort of a look occurred when things went wrong (old chemicals. bad paper etc). But the look was intriguing and in rare cases ‘happy accidents’ created highly memorable images.

Nowadays a mindless digital auto-filter is expected to deliver the same retro effects and everyone has this facility on their smart phone. But the truth is that really successful treatments are as rare as they ever were. No tonal treatment suits every image or is predictable enough to be optimal in the hands of a emotionless thoughtless algorithm. In advertising, being tasked to deliver a specific high quality graphic/illustration effect ‘on demand’ remains as ‘challenging’ a creative task as it ever was.

A lot of experimentation is required to find the best possible effect for the job. This is not least because - when there is featured product (a car in this case) - retaining its visual integrity is a major priority. Mood, atmosphere and sensual textures come a big second after making the vehicle look desirable even to the most conventional, creatively ambivalent buyer/driver. But even so that 'big second' still has to be 'pretty big' to do its job -  - to cut through the noise and at minimum 'be noticed' in our heavily image saturated media environment.

So, the brief was (as so often is the case) - 'be bold and cutting edge in creative terms for this Dodge Challenger image, but be careful not to challenge anyone's sensibility at the same time. 

]]>
tag:aopprojects.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1143944 2017-04-04T18:59:42Z 2017-05-10T14:42:56Z Singularity by Florian Mueller #architecture #minimalism

Just the building. Reduced to the max.
From all over the world: New York, Hong Kong, London, Madrid, Berlin, etc...

For me architecture is a kind of sculpture. In Singularity I reduced the buildings to themselves.
Like a sculpture on a pedestal in a clean gallery or museum.

All work by Florian Mueller. More on iso74.com


]]>
tag:aopprojects.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1143076 2017-04-01T11:43:20Z 2017-05-10T12:36:22Z Back To Workers by Richard Freestone

This body of work wasn't shot as a planned project but more a case of taking advantage of an opportunity. My darkroom is in a business centre and my neighbour is a training organisation. They organise work experience for the long term unemployed as a way of helping them back to full time work. One morning when I arrived to make some prints, I noticed these characters swanning around waiting for transport to take them to a work experience project. After a chat they agreed to my request to make their portraits. The next morning I set up a background in a corner of the car park. Balanced a couple of flash heads with the ambient light and photographed whoever turned up.

Richard Freestone 07968 889258 http://www.richardfreestone.com (Print Sales) http://www.richardfreestone.co.uk (Portfolio) http://www.139printroom.co.uk (Platinum Printing)

]]>
tag:aopprojects.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1136767 2017-03-08T03:02:22Z 2017-09-07T19:38:38Z Five Days alongside the Circus by Markku Lahdesmaki

By Markku Lahdesmaki

See more of the awarded series here:

#markkulahdesmaki #markkuphoto #leica #ramosbroscircus #yuccavalley #yuccaland 

As a photographer, you always feel a little more aware of your surroundings than other people. After all, your livelihood depends on your eyes, on seeing things that other’s don’t. But it’s easy to forget that no matter how aware you are, everyone eventually becomes numb to their daily environment. That’s why traveling outside your comfort zone is so important to longevity in this industry, it keeps your eyes fresh, not just on the road but when you come back home. And traveling doesn’t necessarily mean somewhere far either, it could be another neighborhood, a different block, a quick hike, or yes, biking through Cambodia.

I’ve been thinking about comfort zones and new perspectives ever since I moved to the foot of Mt. San Jacinto, which towers above Coachella Valley in California. Every day something new catches my eye, or my ear, it’s been an invigorating experience. And those experiences are what really keep my art alive, keep me passionate about doing what I do. Case in point; earlier this year I was driving in Yucca Valley, on my way to Joshua Tree when I noticed some circus trucks in an open field. I could see the beginnings of a tent under construction, workers hurrying to-and-fro in the crisp morning air.

I parked and walked over to the campground, where I eventually struck up a conversation with the owner of the Ramos Bros. Circus, Oliver. He recognized my accent and as it turned out, he had traveled all over Scandinavia years before, as part of another circus. That coincidence provided an opportunity to ask if it would be okay for me to take some pictures of the circus, and perhaps because of that connection, he acquiesced. I came back with my wife the next night, just to take in the show as an audience member. One of the things that really caught my eye was how the imperfections really added to the rustic charm of the entire operation; this wasn’t Barnum & Bailey, and it was better for it. It seemed like everyone on the staff performed several different roles in the course of a night; ticket taker one minute, leading show horses the next, fire-eating tomorrow. All of this only added to the warmth and intimacy of the experience.

The whole thing was very spontaneous and I had to do a lot of adapting on the fly, but that’s also what made it fun. I remember standing in total darkness behind the curtains with some of the artists and thinking how the hell can I get anything captured with almost no light at all but it worked out. I went to almost every show they had in town.I would be sitting at home, planning on taking the night off but the thought of what I might be missing just kept nagging me, and the next thing you know, I’m halfway down Highway 62. I saw five shows over the week or so that they spent in town, each time trying to find a new angle or idea. One day I even went to the local Home Depot and rented the cherry picker so I was able to capture the whole tent from a different perspective.

I really want to thank the entire Ramos Bros. Circus for so graciously opening their doors to me and letting me spend some time in their world.

 
The first time I went to see the show my wife and I were sitting in the front row. When the cannon went off and the man went flying over us I snapped a shot. I didn’t actually expect much when I looked at the back of the camera but somehow, I had nailed it. This is the photo that convinced me I needed to come back the next day. Everything that this project is about; wonder and spectacle alongside the rough-hewn DIY aesthetic of the circus and the hard-working people who make it go, all of that is in this picture. 

This was the Black Falcon's first performance and afterwards he seemed slightly disappointed by how it went, but as far as I could tell, the fans loved it. Kids and superheroes.


I wanted to try and find an elevated vantage point for some shots, but none of the neighboring buildings were high enough. I’ve used cranes before on commercial jobs and never had as much of a hassle renting one as I did on this job. I called a bunch of crane companies in the area but everything was booked, and pricey to boot. I actually ended up finding a cherry-picker at Home Depot, but you have to tow it yourself. Luckily, finding a vehicle with towing capacity is not that difficult at a circus and everyone there was happy to help. It was all worth it once I saw this shot though; the light fell perfectly, people were just starting to stream into the campground, and then those candy striped tents against the desert and that sky, you can’t ask for a better backdrop. 

This was a funny moment because all the dogs are waiting for that last dog to jump down but that dog has decided that there isn’t going to be any more jumping that night. The dog show was funny because something would always go a little bit off script. A couple dog’s wouldn’t be listening, or maybe one would run off to pee somewhere, it was all very imperfect but again, that was part of the charm. 

This guy is one of the veterans of this circus and like a lot of the people there, he wears a lot of hats in a day. When I saw him operating the spotlight, and all the amazingly diffused light leaking from it’s ventilation slats, I knew it would be a great picture. He is such an old hand, haha, he can see me but he never even acknowledged that I was shooting there, just fully locked in on his job. I shot this with only the available light too.

I took this backstage, before the Black Falcon’s first performance at the circus, so I think he was actually quite nervous. All the light is coming from a door that was momentarily propped open, which was almost the only way you could ever really see anything. The pony was already hitched up to that wagon, so I just asked him to sit down there while he waited to go on. I have to say that everyone involved was very helpful and indulged my presence and odd requests. I think it helps that I used a very low-key camera set up- specifically my Leica - which I think helps people just be natural in situations like this. It comes off as very amateurish and everyone just kinda let’s you do your thing instead of freezing up because you are holding a “fancy” camera.
]]>